Welcome to Bucaro TecHelp!

Bucaro TecHelp
Maintain Your Computer and Use it More Effectively
to Design a Web Site and Make Money on the Web

About Bucaro TecHelp About BTH User Agreement User Agreement Privacy Policy Privacy Site Map Site Map Contact Bucaro TecHelp Contact RSS News Feeds News Feeds

Victims of Sandy Hook

Stop the Slaughter of Innocents. Congress is bought and paid for by gun lunatics and gun promotion groups. If you want to live in a safe America, help buy Congress back for America. Send a donation to Mayors Against Illegal Guns, 909 Third Avenue, 15th Floor New York, NY 10022

Configure Recycle Bin to Immediately Delete Files

When you delete a file in Windows 7 it's not really deleted. By default it's moved to a special hidden system binary file at the top of each drive named $Recycle.Bin. By doing this, you can easily restore the deleted file by right-clicking on the Recycle Bin icon, selecting "Open" in the popup menu that appears, right-clicking on the name of the file, and selecting "Restore" in the popup menu that appears.

But what if you're one of those people who, when they say "delete" they really mean delete? Actually deleting a file has two advantages. 1. Unauthorized users of the same computer can't access your deleted files, and 2. the stored files take up space on your drive. Well, you can easily configure the Recycle Bin to immediately delete files.

Note: Under certain circumstances, even deleted files can be restored by using special file recovery software, or by a user that knows how to use scripts. However, if you use an application like the free File Shredder utility, the file really is gone.

Recycle Bin Properties

To configure the Recycle Bin to immediately delete files, right-clicking on the Recycle Bin icon and in the popup menu that appears, select "Properties". In the "Recycle Bin Properties" dialog box that appears, set the radio button next to "Don't move files to the Recycle Bin, Remove files immediately when deleted." Then click on the [Apply] button, then click on the [OK] button.

Now when you right-click on a file name on Windows Desktop or in Windows Explorer, and select delete in the popup menu, it does not get saved in the Recycle Bin, it really does get deleted.

More Windows Tips:
• Disable Windows 7 Wireless Configuration Manager Service (WLAN AutoConfig)
• Make PDF eBooks Read Themselves Outloud
• Most Useful Keyboard Shortcuts
• Turn Off Windows 7 Taskbar Preview Thumbnails
• My Favorite Windows 7 Tips and Tricks
• Disable Windows 7 Automatic Resizing and Docking
• Configure Recycle Bin to Immediately Delete Files
• Delete Does Not Erase a File
• Windows Desktop Themes
• Disable Taskbar Button Grouping

RSS Feed RSS Feed

Follow Stephen Bucaro Follow @Stephen Bucaro

Computer Subsections

Fire HD
[Site User Agreement] [Privacy Policy] [Site map] [Search This Site] [Contact Form]
Copyright©2001-2016 Bucaro TecHelp 13771 N Fountain Hills Blvd Suite 114-248 Fountain Hills, AZ 85268