Welcome to Bucaro TecHelp!

Bucaro TecHelp
Maintain Your Computer and Use it More Effectively
to Design a Web Site and Make Money on the Web

About Bucaro TecHelp About BTH User Agreement User Agreement Privacy Policy Privacy Site Map Site Map Contact Bucaro TecHelp Contact RSS News Feeds News Feeds

CompTIA Network+ Certification Exam Objectives

It is difficult for a recruiter or employer to evaluate if an individual is a competent IT (Information Technology) professional because the technology in the IT field is complex. For this reason CompTIA (Computing Technology Industry Association) has defined specific skills and knowledge that an IT professional must have, and has developed certifications that attest to the individual's competency.

If an individual holds a CompTIA certification, the recruiter or employer can be confident that the individual is a competent IT professional. Holding CompTIA certification is an advantage to an individual because it provides proof that they have the competence required to perform the job.

Certification can help individuals acquire employment in the IT industry, in fact, many employers require CompTIA certification. If you're already working in the IT field, the certifications you hold will determine your job position and salary. Being CompTIA certified can give you the competitive edge you need to compete in today's demanding job market.

CompTIA provides several different areas of certification. Network+ certification specifies the skills and knowledge that a computer networking technician must have. It verifies that you have the knowledge to competently perform the computer networking technician job. The Network+ certification exam objectives are divided into four domains as described below:

Domain 1: Media and Topologies

Objective 1.1: Recognize the following logical or physical network topologies given a schematic diagram or description: star/hierarchical, bus, mesh, ring, wireless.

Objective 1.2: Specify the main features of 802.2 (LLC), 802.3 (Ethernet), 802.5 (token ring), 802.11b (wireless), and FDDI networking technologies, including speed, access method, topology, media.

Objective 1.3: Specify the characteristics (e.g., speed, length, topology, cable type, etc.) of the following: 802.3 (Ethernet) standards, 10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX, 10BASE2, 10BASE5, 100BASE-FX, Gigabit Ethernet.

Objective 1.4: Recognize the following media connectors and/or describe their uses: RJ-11, RJ-45, AUI, BNC, ST, SC.

Objective 1.5: Choose the appropriate media type and connectors to add a client to an existing network.

Objective 1.6: Identify the purpose, features, and functions of the following network components: hubs, switches, bridges, routers, gateways, CSU/DSUs, network interface cards/ISDN adapters/system area network cards, wireless access points, modems.

RSS Feed RSS Feed

Follow Stephen Bucaro Follow @Stephen Bucaro

Computer Networking Sections

Fire HD
[Site User Agreement] [Privacy Policy] [Site map] [Search This Site] [Contact Form]
Copyright©2001-2018 Bucaro TecHelp 13771 N Fountain Hills Blvd Suite 114-248 Fountain Hills, AZ 85268