How to Dual Boot Windows XP and Ubuntu 8

If you want to have access to both a Windows and Linux environment on your computer, this guide will show you an easy way to have that using Windows XP and Ubuntu. It is assumed that you already have Windows XP installed on your computer and that you have Ubuntu Desktop Edition downloaded and burned onto a CD already.

Ubuntu Startup Screen

1. Insert the Ubuntu Installation CD into your CD-ROM Drive.

2. Restart your computer.

Get into the PC BIOS

3. Press your BIOS⁄Setup key (Usually: F1, F2, ESC, or DEL key) while the computer starts up to get into the BIOS.

BIOS boot screen

4. Go to the screen where you can adjust the boot priority of your devices and move the CD-ROM Drive up the priority list, by pressing the + key, so that it comes before the Hard Drive entry as seen above.

5. Save and Exit out of the BIOS with the F10 key, your computer will restart.

Ubuntu Startup Screen

6. On the Ubuntu Setup screen, hit Enter to Start or install Ubuntu.

Double-click Install on the Desktop

7. Double-click Install on the Desktop.

8. Go through the installation wizard (if using Ubuntu 8.04 until you reach step 4). Ubuntu 8.10 installs a dual-boot by default installation.

If using Ubuntu 8.

9. If using Ubuntu 8.04, then at step 4, select the first option, Guided - resize and you can specify how much disk space you want the new partition to use as shown below.

10. Continue through the rest of the steps and click Install on step 7.

11. Click Restart Now and remove the CD from CD-ROM drive.

12. Done! Every time you start up your computer now you will be prompted to select what operating system you want to start up through the GRUB Bootloader screen as seen below.


o If you don’t have Ubuntu already, you can download Ubuntu Desktop Edition from their site at this link: and burn the ISO image to a CD.

o You can find out what key it is to enter into your BIOS by looking quickly at the bottom of the first screen that is shown when you start up your computer. If you have the manual that came with your computer it should say in there what key it is as well.

Ubuntu has three choices

o You will notice Ubuntu has three different choices. The top one is the normal Ubuntu mode, which you should use to get into Ubuntu. The second is Ubuntu (recovery mode) which is used if you have to repair the operating system. The third option is used for checking your memory of system. The last option is your Windows XP installation.

o Before doing this defragmenting your hard drive is a good idea.


o IMPORTANT: Backup your hard drive in case something goes wrong!

Article source: wikiHow. wikiHow is a group effort to create a great resource: the world's largest free how to manual. wikiHow articles help people solve their everyday problems. wikiHow licenses all content under a Creative Commons License. The license allows wikiHow content to be used freely for noncommercial purposes. The Creative Commons License also allows for the creation of derivative works.

Learn more at

More Windows Administration Information:
• Virtualization Technology an Emerging Technology
• Looking at the Android Operating System
• 12 Essential Linux Commands for Beginners
• Welcome to the world of Knoppix
• How to install software applications on Linux
• Linux Process Management
• Basic Linux File and Directory Commands
• How to Use the VIM Text Editor in Linux
• Linux su vs sudo: What's the Difference?
• What is Linux?